Champaign-Urbana Cable Television and Communication Technology Commission

Committee Information

The Cable Commission is an advisory board to both the City of Champaign and City of Urbana’s City Councils. It monitors the local cable franchises and ensures compliance of the Cable Franchise Agreement is maintained.  The City of Urbana serves as the Administrative Agency for the Cable Commission.

Other responsibilities include evaluating the performance of the cable television operator, reporting such findings to both City Councils, and holding public hearings concerning applications for and renewals of the Cable Franchise Agreement. The Cable Commission also reviews Champaign-Urbana cable and video subscriber complaints about television services.

Cable/Video Providers

Companies with a local or state video franchise:

Filing Complaints

Champaign Residents:

  • File cable tv complaints by phone at 217-403-8989.
  • File cable tv complaints by e-mail at

Urbana Residents:

  • File cable tv complaints by phone at 217-384-2452.
  • File cable tv complaints by e-mail at

Due to federal and state law, the Cable Commission only has authority to review complaints regarding cable/video services, and NOT Internet or telephone offerings. Complaints about telephone services should be made to the Illinois Commerce Commission. Internet Service Providers are not regulated by any governmental body, however, if fraud is involved, you may contact the Illinois Attorney General’s Office consumer complaint page for assistance.

Cable Commission Members

The Commission consists of 8 voting members. Three members represent each City (appointed by the Mayor with Council approval).  One member is also appointed by the Chancellor of the University of Illinois and another member by the President of Parkland College.

The City of Urbana provides staff support for this Commission and can be contacted for further information at 217/384-2452 or Jake Schumacher, UPTV Station Manager.

Committee Members

MemberTelephoneTerm BeganTerm Expires
Peter Folk

1407 S. Maple St.
Urbana, IL 61801
O: 217-367-8656
H: 217-721-3893 (preferred)
April 2010June 2015
Dale Sinder

2909 S. Myra Ridge Dr.
Urbana, IL 61802
H: 217-778-0680
April 2012 June 2016
Andrew WadsworthO: 217-300-9631
October 2014June 2017
Karen Walker
2121 Lynwood Drive
Champaign, IL 61821
O: 217-359-0042
H: 217-359-0042
June 2002June 2016
Giraldo Rosales
618 W. Hill
Champaign, IL 61821
O: 217-244-6588
H: 217-766-6105
June 2009June 2015
Chris Lukeman
University of Illinois - UI-7
Dept. of Public Affairs
507 E Green Street - Rm 359
Champaign, IL 61820
O: 217/244-3011
September 2011
Chris Foster
Parkland College – PCTV
2400 W. Bradley Avenue
Champaign, IL 61821
O: 217-351-2475
September 2008
City of Urbana
Jake Schumacher

UPTV Station Manager
400 S. Vine
Urbana, IL 61801
O: 217/384-2452
Cable Commission Clerk
City of Champaign
Jeff Hamilton

Telecommunications/AV Technician
102 N. Neil St.
Champaign, IL 61820
O: 217/403-8970
Staff Liaison
Regular meetings are held the 3rd Thursday of January, April, July and October at 3:30 p.m. in Urbana’s Council Chambers. Commissioner terms are 3 years in length.