Historic Preservation Commission

The Historic Preservation Commission identifies properties, structures, and areas that are historically significant. This Commission also advises the Plan Commission and City Council on the designation of Landmarks, Conservation, and Historic Districts. The Commission also acts to facilitate the protection of visual characteristics by reviewing, giving advice, and passing upon changes to the exterior architectural appearance.

The Commission consists of seven regular members and two alternates that are appointed by the Mayor and approved by City Council. Members are chosen on the basis of expertise, experience, or interest in the related subject matter.

Each member serves a three-year term and may be reappointed to one term. Alternate members shall first serve for one year prior to appointment.

The Planning Department at 217/403-8800 provides staff support for this Commission or email Bruce Knight, Planning and Development Director.

Landmark Nominations

Anyone can nominate a property for consideration as an historic landmark by completing the Landmark Nomination Application (410 kB).

Meeting Information

Committee Members

Member Name Phone Number(s) Term Began Term Expires
Gail Broadie 718  W. Washington Champaign, IL  61820  O:  217/474-4245 E:  gail.broadie@comcast.net  March 2016 June 2018
Anthony Bamert
2009 Fox Drive
Champaign, IL  61820
O:  217/352-5700
C:  217-649-6775
E:  bamerttony@aol.com
 July 2014  June 2017
Catherine H. Barbercheck
1508 W. Park Ave.
Champaign, IL 61821-3159
O: 217/352-3634
H: 217/377-2967
E: cbarbercheck@barberchecklaw.com
May 2010 June 2018
Joe Petry       67 Greencroft Dr.    Champaign, IL  61820   O:  217/840-5538

E:  joepetry01@gmail.com

 June 2016  June 2019
Gary Olsen

3121 Village Office Place Village of the Crossing
Champaign, IL 61822
O: 217/359-3453
H: 217/359-6440
E: olsenarchitects@gmail.com
May 1997 June 2018
Stephen Dunn
3202 Cherry Hills Dr. Champaign, IL 61822
D: 217/352-7418 November 2015 June 2018
Dr. Joshua Peschel
601 W. Green St.
Champaign, IL 61820
O: 217/419-2571
H: 217/419-2571
E: jmpeschel@gmail.com
September 2012 June 2018
Member Name Phone Number(s) Term Began Term Expires
Barabara Ford
305 W. University Ave. #2 Champaign, IL 61820
H:  217/377-9472                                    E:  bjford46@hotmail.com February 2013 June 2018
Supported By: Meeting Time, Frequency & Term Duration
Planning & Development Department
City of Champaign
102 N. Neil Street
O: 403-8800 Meetings are held on the
1st Thursday of each
month at 4:00 p.m. in
the Council Chambers.
Terms are 3 years.