Meet the IT Team

Mark Toalson
IT Director
mark.toalson@ci.champaign.il.us

Areas of Focus: Department leadership, strategic planning for technology use internally and citywide, telecommunication and information technology budget planning, strategic planning for maintenance and support, analysis of industry-related trends, managing private sector purchases for information technology and related consulting.


Colleen Madera
Administrative Assistant
colleen.madera@ci.champaign.il.us

Areas of Focus: Help desk support, project assistance and support, website support, phone system management, overall department secretarial support, departmental organization.


Cynthia Chandler
Management Analyst/Project Manager
cynthia.chandler@ci.champaign.il.us

Areas of Focus: Facilitate the City’s City’s Comprehensive Organizational Resource Evaluation (CORE) project and manage related process improvements.


Joseph DeWalt
Network Engineer
joe.dewalt@ci.champaign.il.us

Areas of Focus: Network design, research, development, and maintenance, research and initial implementation of new technology, Internet and firewall technologies, virtual server environments, parking ticket system assistance.


Roger Diercks
GIS Administrator
roger.diercks@ci.champaign.il.us

Areas of Focus: Management and guidance of the GIS program at the City, leading meetings of the City’s GIS committee, creating and maintaining GIS data, reports and maps; assisting with GIS application development and software support, GIS database administration, data analysis and research.


Daphne Greaves
Network Administrator
daphne.greaves@ci.champaign.il.us

Areas of Focus: Implementation and support for financial and budget software and other citywide software solutions, Freedom of Information Act requests, domain security and account services, email and application administration, computer purchase program.


Brian Perkinson
Database Administrator
brian.perkinson@ci.champaign.il.us

Areas of Focus:


Brenda Reed
Network Technician
brenda.reed@ci.champaign.il.us

Areas of Focus: General citywide technical support, citywide electronic asset management, hardware and software setup and configuration, software purchasing and licensing.