Meet the Staff

Bruce A. Knight, FAICP
Planning & Development Director
bruce.knight@ci.champaign.il.us

Areas of Focus: department leadership, development negotiations, general economic development programs, Plan Commission, City Council, Capital Improvement Plan


Rob Kowalski, AICP
Assistant Planning & Development Director
rob.kowalski@ci.champaign.il.us

Areas of Focus: long-range planning activities, department administration, Plan Commission, Visit Champaign County Board


Kevin Phillips
Zoning Administrator
kevin.phillips@ci.champaign.il.us

Areas of Focus: zoning, building permit review, Zoning Board of Appeals, Historic Preservation Commission


Jeff Marino, AICP
Planner II & Acting Zoning Administrator, Land Development Division
jeff.marino@ci.champaign.il.us

Areas of Focus: preliminary and final subdivision plat review, zoning ordinance text amendments, special use permits


T.J. Blakeman, AICP
Planner II, Implementation Planner
terry.blakeman@ci.champaign.il.us

Areas of Focus: Tax Increment Finance (TIF) Districts, downtown/campustown activities, Enterprise Zone


Lacey Rains Lowe
Planner II, Long Range Planning Division
lacey.rains@ci.champaign.il.us

Areas of Focus: comprehensive planning, sustainability planning,  Historic Preservation Commission, census, neighborhood wellness


Ben Leroy
Planner II, Long Range Planning Division
ben.leroy@ci.champaign.il.us

Areas of Focus:  long range planning , neighborhood plans, bicycle and pedestian planning, and special area studies


Lisa Hempel
Secretary II
lisa.hempel@ci.champaign.il.us

Areas of Focus: overall department secretarial support, Plan Commission,  Historic Preservation Commission and Zoning Board of Appeals support


If you are still uncertain who to contact call the department at
217-403-8800 or contact staff via the specific service contacts below.

Administration
planadmin@ci.champaign.il.us

Development Information
subdivisions@ci.champaign.il.us

Zoning Administration/Signs
zoning@ci.champaign.il.us