Meet the Staff


knightBruce A. Knight, FAICP
Planning & Development Director

Areas of Focus: department leadership, development negotiations, general economic development programs, Plan Commission, City Council, Capital Improvement Plan

Rob Kowalski, AICP
Assistant Planning & Development Director

Areas of Focus: long-range planning activities, department administration, Plan Commission, Visit Champaign County Board

Kevin Phillips
Zoning Administrator

Areas of Focus: zoning, building permit review, Zoning Board of Appeals, Historic Preservation Commission

Jeff Marino, AICP
Senior Planner

Areas of Focus: preliminary and final subdivision plat review, zoning ordinance text amendments, special use permits

T.J. Blakeman, AICP
Senior Planner

Areas of Focus: Tax Increment Finance (TIF) Districts, downtown/campustown activities, Enterprise Zone

laceyLacey Rains Lowe
Senior Planner

Areas of Focus: comprehensive planning, sustainability planning,  Historic Preservation Commission, census, neighborhood wellness

Ben Leroy
Associate Planner

Areas of Focus:  long range planning , neighborhood plans, bicycle and pedestian planning, and special area studies

Eric Van BuskirkEric Van Buskirk 
Associate Planner



Tina-Marie AnsongTina Ansong 
Associate Planner



Lisa Hempel
Administrative Assistant

Areas of Focus: overall department secretarial support, Plan Commission,  Historic Preservation Commission and Zoning Board of Appeals support

If you are still uncertain who to contact call the department at
217-403-8800 or contact staff via the specific service contacts below.


Development Information

Zoning Administration/Signs